My blog | TESTIMONIALS
16349
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-16349,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,qode-theme-ver-9.4.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive
 

TESTIMONIALS

“Excellent, thorough surveys and valuations. Picked out important issues. Gave advice on projected costs of works needing to be done. Comprehensive service.”

Combe Down, Bath. July 2018

“Service was amazing from the first enquiry to the final report. Everything made very clear and simple and we are more than happy with the service and result. Thank you.”

Nunney, Frome. July 2018

“Thorough, clear and personable service from this company. I was able to specify certain areas I was worried about on my house survey and he paid extra attention to them. Loved that the surveyor rang with a précis of his findings on the day of the survey just to give a speedy idea of the house’s condition.”

Bath. July 2018

“Edwin Lake was recommended to us and we were very happy with the service provided. We were given the opportunity to meet with him at the end of the survey to run through findings which really helped. A potential need to update the septic tank of the property we were purchasing due to new regulations was highlighted which would otherwise have been missed by us. We were able to negotiate a satisfactory agreement with the seller.”

Bradford on Avon. June 2018

“Quick, professional and excellent value.”

Downend, Bristol. June 2018

“Excellent service – Richard took the time to explain the report and answer my questions.”

Bath. June 2018

“Very friendly and accommodating staff and excellent survey which also included a phone call to discuss findings.”

Frome. May 2018

“Edwin Lake provided a professional service, with good communication. We particularly liked the phone call after the survey, where we were verbally given the information for the report and we could discuss any concerns. I would use the company again and recommend it to others.”

Hutton. May 2018

“Very well conducted survey that has helped us a lot with making a final decision. We will definitely recommend Edwin Lake. Very reliable service and good value for money.”

Bristol. April 2018

“Richard provided an extremely comprehensive and valuable service that helped us make some key decisions. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Edwin Lake.”

Combe Down, Bath. April 2018

“The service provided by Edwin Lake – a property valuation for probate purposes – was first class. From the initial contact to the delivery of the written report, the service was delivered swiftly and professionally. Both Richard, who carried out the valuation, and Emma, who managed the process, were helpful and are a credit to the firm.”

Bradley Stoke, Bristol. April 2018

“The report was very detailed and well laid out. Great value for money.”

Peasedown St John. March 2018

“Many thanks for your service which was efficient, thorough and well communicated.”

Frome. March 2018

“Excellent Service, Highly Recommended.”

Frome. March 2018

“My first contact was with Emma whose charming and relaxed manner coupled with professionality assured me I’d definitely come to the right place. From then on everything went very smoothly and easily. The very comprehensive valuation report from Richard was with me in under two weeks, and all this at a very competitive price. Would highly recommend.”

Redland, Bristol. February 2018

“Really pleased with service from start to finish. Emma was very helpful and took the time to discuss the different survey options and answer any questions I had. Our surveyor, Peter Bennett contacted us on the afternoon of the survey to discuss his visit which was very helpful. Very happy with the Homebuyers report. Many thanks.”

Holt. February 2018

“I can’t thank Emma and Richard for the quality and speed of service they provided. We required a homebuyers report and being 1st time buyers, my husband and I weren’t very familiar of the process or what to expect. However Emma explained it all to us very well and the report from Richard was way more detailed than we thought it would be, which made our purchase decision that much easier as we knew exactly what we were working with. The fact that they only take payment upon completion of the survey and delivery of the report went long way in instilling our trust in using them. So pleased we chose Edwin Lake! Can’t recommend the team highly enough!”.”

Bristol. February 2018

“Richard was very helpful and professional. Wouldn’t hesitate to use him next time.”

Cliftonwood. February 2018

“This was a very thorough piece of work. The surveyor took great pains to brief us in detail by telephone in the immediate aftermath of his survey, before he wrote his report. He dealt promptly and helpfully with our follow-up questions and provided useful clarification when asked to do so.”

Frome. February 2018

“Richard and his team were professional, efficient and affordable. They were more than happy to provide both a thorough and detailed survey plus offer appropriate advice regarding potential future works. Richard’s advice regarding appropriate restoration work in a late 1800s property has been consistently accurate when discussing this with Builder’s and we would recommend him for this reason in many contemporary Bristol/Bath properties. Should we need to use a surveyor again in Bristol Edwin Lake will be our first port of call.”

Bristol. February 2018

“The service was efficient and friendly. The charges were explained in a transparent and clear way.”

Bristol. February 2018

“We are first time buyers and completely new to the property world. From the first time I contacted Edwin Lake I was always kept fully up to date with everything and informed promptly with all developments and findings. A fantastic survey and service I would recommend to anyone.”

Bath. January 2018

“Edwin Lake is an extremely professional company. Extremely prompt response. Survey was terribly well-written. Nothing is too much trouble for Emma who is also professional and extremely prompt in answering any queries.”

Weston-super-Mare. January 2018

“It was great to meet Peter at the property a quick wander round with him helps put the report into perspective when we came to read it.”

Ditcheat. January 2018

“Excellent very professional service from start to finish. Highly recommended!”

Hanham, Bristol. January 2018

“Richard was very helpful and professional. Wouldn’t hesitate to use him next time.”

Cliftonwood. January 2018

“Excellent service, professional and friendly. We would definitely use again.”

Bruton. January 2018

“Superb service. Emma was extremely helpful. Richard provided an excellent service and was very helpful in answering questions and discussing issues. 5 star service.”

Bath. December 2017

“Emma Baker was very efficient as a first point of contact and Peter Bennett was very thorough and even commented on our future extension plans and alterations which helped a lot.”

Norton St Philip. December 2017

“I highly recommend Edwin Lake: efficient and attentive service with attention to the essential detail.”

Frome. December 2017

“Excellent customer service (again), thorough and responsive.”

Southville, Bristol. December 2017

“We could not fault Emma or Richard. Emma was the first person we contacted and we didn’t get any further down our list. We would certainly use them again.”

Kingswood, Bristol. November 2017

“Excellent service and very useful detailed thorough report.”

Frome. November 2017

“We have commissioned the services of Edwin Lake five times in the past and found them to be very professional. On one occasion there were serious defects at the property which were not apparent on face value. Richard Lake’s advice prevented an expensive mistake. Highly recommended.”

Bath. November 2017

“Brilliant service, such efficient friendly and helpful staff, would highly recommend.”

Holcombe. November 2017

“From the first contact with Emma to prompt delivery of the survey by Richard, we were impressed with both the courtesy and professionalism shown.”

Rode. October 2017

“Excellent service. I was kept informed of progress at all stages and any questions I have had have been answered in full.”

Southville, Bristol. October 2017

“Such a great service. Their communication and thoroughness were fantastic. Would highly recommend them!”

Frome. October 2017

“The phone calls and personal service were outstanding. The gentleman was recommended and it was worth waiting for him!”

Frome. September 2017

“From the first phone call to the final report all communications were helpful and professional. All elements of the transaction were made clear and all efforts were made to accommodate our seller who was particularly demanding. The quality of both the verbal and final written reports was excellent. Many thanks. We will instruct this company for any future survey requirements we have.”

Hallatrow, Bristol. September 2017

“The survey report was extremely detailed and helpful. I also appreciated receiving a call immediately after the survey visit with a summary of the key findings. The cost of the survey was reasonable and I didn’t have to wait long for the survey visit.”

Norton St Philip. September 2017

“Great to be able to talk through the survey with Richard at the property which meant no surprises after. Emma is super quick to respond and helpful all the time. I’d recommend Edwin Lake for a quality service.”

Barton Hill, Bristol. August 2017

“I am so glad that I chose Edwin Lake. The customer service was first-rate. Emma was amazing on the phone and really helped me to feel like I was in safe hands. She was also very helpful and accommodating when the goalposts kept shifting. The depth of Peter’s expertise and local knowledge was apparent throughout the report which highlighted issues that had been missed the last time the house was surveyed. He also helped me to resolve issues arising from the report, taking the time to advise me by phone several times at no extra cost. I wholeheartedly recommend them.”

Frome. August 2017

“The whole process was so smooth. Emma was very helpful in arranging the appointment and guiding us on the type of report we needed. Peter was polite, thorough and the report was completed early! We would definitely use Edwin Lake again.”

Bath. August 2017

“Great communications, clear & very informative surveys and easy to deal with. Very impressive!”

Claverton. August 2017

“Peter, I just wanted to thank you for the RICS HomeBuyer Report that you conducted for me recently. I have been advised that I am lucky you picked up the possible flying freehold issue. I understand that this is something that could easily have been missed and I am grateful for your thoroughness, expertise and local knowledge.”

Frome. July 2017

“We received an excellent, thorough report and prompt, useful replies to our subsequent queries. Couldn’t ask for more than this, thank you.”

Bath. July 2017

“We are so happy with our choice of surveyor. Edwin Lake were so efficient, helpful and professional. I would recommend to any new house buyer!”

East Harptree. July 2017

“Extremely professional and helpful at all times. Would highly recommend Edwin Lake Ltd to anyone who needs a survey. As a first time purchaser I found the Homebuyers survey very helpful and informative in the decision making process.”

Frome. June 2017

“Emma and Richard could not have been more pleasant or helpful. Their service is head and shoulders above that of other professionals I have encountered during this process. I would not hesitate to give them the highest recommendation.”

Bristol. June 2017

“Very thorough and reasonably priced report both verbal and written.”

Westbury. May 2017

“I wanted a thorough survey of a 1970’s building that had been rented out for some time and was in an area where I wanted to be satisfied that the structural integrity of the property was sound. Before, on the day and subsequently, I have received excellent verbal reporting and discussion and a thorough report, including a follow-up site visit to review a key detail.”

Corsham. May 2017

“The service provided by Edwin Lake was friendly and efficient from the time I made contact to the point that the homebuyers report was delivered. The verbal update on the day of the survey was very useful and informative. A great service from start to finish.”

Bath. April 2017

“Good telephone discussions to define the survey requirements and give personal feedback.”

Bath. April 2017

“Service was great, especially Emma in the office; very efficient and kind and helpful!  Richard from Edwin Lake was great. He spent a significant amount of time discussing the property with me during his site visit which was very useful indeed. The report was detailed and insightful. I will definitely recommend them to friends.”

Fishponds, Bristol. April 2017

“I was very impressed with the thoroughness of the report and the follow up communication. Mr Richard Lake and his PA, Emma Baker were very professional and helpful in all their communication. I would absolutely recommend the firm to others.”

Brislington, Bristol. March 2017

“Edwin Lake were suggested by our solicitor, we have moved a few times and found this company the most approachable and professional surveyor we have ever used. We would recommend Edwin Lake services to family and friends. The service received from not only Richard but his PA was exceptional.”

Bath. March 2017

“Thank you for the survey you carried out for me recently. I appreciated the care and attention to detail you put into the Home Buyer Report including the photos highlighting particular issues. It was very helpful to be able to speak to Richard in person while he was still at the property and for him to answer my specific concerns.”

Frome. February 2017

“A great, helpful and friendly service. I would certainly recommend the team. Thanks.”

Hawkesbury Upton, Badminton. February 2017

“From my very first conversation when I phoned Edwin Lake Ltd to make some general inquiries re: building surveys, Emma’s instantly lovely warm but professional manner on the phone gave me the confidence in the company to book a survey straight away. She was very helpful, knowledgeable and efficient, answering all my questions, always getting back to me promptly, as promised. Richard carried out the survey and made it clear I could call him with any questions, which I found very reassuring. The report was thorough, he was equally helpful, friendly and professional when I did call him, answering my questions thoroughly, giving me time and not rushing me. I am extremely pleased with every aspect of the service received including the reasonable price of the Homebuyers Report . Without hesitation, I would recommend Edwin Lake Ltd! Thank you so much for making this part of the flat buying process stress free.”

St Pauls, Bristol. February 2017

“Brilliant service! Have used them before and thought their service was high quality. Would definitely recommend them.”

Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol. January 2017

“Saved me A LOT of money. Thank you Richard!”

Upton Cheyney, South Gloucestershire. January 2017

“Edwin Lake were quick and professional from start to finish. They made the whole process easy and without stress. This is why my wife and I have used Edwin Lake on more than one occasion and will continue to do so in the future.”

Mangotsfield, Bristol. January 2017

“An excellent recommendation from colleagues, and I will now be recommending to others myself. I had a full survey carried out, and subsequently pulled out of the purchase. As I had been fully satisfied with the service of Edwin Lake Ltd, I used them again for a survey on another property, and I am happily now proceeding with the purchase.”

Fishponds, Bristol. December 2016

“A very thorough, efficient and friendly service backed up by an excellent report which enabled us to identify issues and give us peace of mind for the Grade II property we were purchasing.”

Bath. December 2016

“Friendly, efficient service. Good value for money and a comprehensive report.”

Frome. December 2016

“I have contacted Edwin Lake for a valuation report for my property. I would describe my experience with Edwin Lake as very satisfactory . They were prompt in their responses, professional in their communication, met the agreed target date. Finally the valuation report quality was excellent and the information included in the report was very useful.”

Bath. December 2016

“The service is excellent, have used Edwin Lake previously and the service hasn’t changed. Excellent service and communication.”

Bathampton, Bath. December 2016

“Detailed survey and helpful after sales. Would recommend.”

Oldland Common, Bristol. December 2016

“My request was handled in a prompt, professional manner. I am totally satisfied with the advice given.”

Bath. December 2016

“Very prompt service and really helpful to get verbal feedback and our specific questions answered on the same day.”

Redland, Bristol. November 2016

“Fantastic service from the first time I spoke to the company. Very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.”

Filton Park, Bristol. November 2016

“Very thorough, great customer care.”

Chew Stoke, Bristol. October 2016

“Great value for money and excellent thorough report. No stone was left unturned!! All was explained extensively in a clear way. Great service.”

Bath. October 2016

I was very happy with the HomeBuyer report on our property which gave us a clear idea of the condition of the property. It was also really helpful to have information on which areas would need to be maintained or replaced in the future.

Keynsham, Bristol. September 2016

“A pleasure to work with – the report was carried out quickly and was extremely thorough, using easy to follow terminology. Thank you!”

Lower Weston, Bath. September 2016

We arranged our service through Edwin Lake, calling the office one evening to enquire. Emma who answered the call was lovely, so friendly and helpful that i decided to book the survey straight away! We had a choice of getting either email or verbal feedback on the day of the survey, and received our report within a few short days of the survey. Richard then contacted us to discuss everything in depth and answered all of our questions, giving us the confidence to proceed with our purchase as first time buyers. We would recommend Edwin Lake without reservation – thank you for making everything so easy for us!

Bradley Stoke, Bristol. September 2016

“Very pleased with the level of detail and time spent discussing any problems.”

Combe Down, Bath. August 2016

Excellent service, went above and beyond their service to help me complete the sale of my property. 10/10 to Emma for the friendly service and quick response.

Paulton, Bristol. August 2016

“Very helpful and efficient service, both in terms of the admin and the survey report. Report very thorough and easy to understand.”

Kingswood, Bristol. August 2016

A really good experience from start to end, very informative and helpful advice given.

Bradford-on-Avon. August 2016

“Taking the plunge on an old property can be quite daunting but Richard was very thorough and allowed me to accompany him through the property to explain things. The Building Survey report was invaluable and means we can move into our new home without our heads in the sand. Thank you!”

Chew Stoke, Bristol. August 2016

“Quick to respond and provided a very friendly service. The report was thorough and exactly what we were looking for to help make our decision.”

Bath. July 2016

“Great service, very quick and efficient!”

Kingswood, Bristol. July 2016

“Faultless service. Richard was most helpful from the outset; conducting a brief external inspection before we committed to making an offer following up with the full Home Buyer survey. He emailed a summary of his findings whilst we were out of the country and talked us through the full report (which was comprehensive and well presented) on our return. A highly professional and friendly service fully coordinated throughout by Emma in the office.”

Bath. July 2016

“Excellent service – helpful, friendly, and made the entire process very easy.”

Frome. July 2016

“I would highly recommend using Edwin Lake. As first time buyers buying in a listed building, Richard and Emma took the time to answer many questions, patiently and comprehensively.”

Bath. June 2016

“Fabulous service, very thorough feedback.”

Freshford, Bath. June 2016

“Thanks very much Richard – you helped us to understand what state the building was in and to make informed decisions accordingly. Thanks for taking the time to walk round the property with us and talk things through!”

Bristol. June 2016

“I have now had two building surveys from Edwin Lake and have been very impressed with both. The value for money has been excellent and the reporting was very thorough. Richard was more than willing to answer any questions I had and explain any issues further. I have already recommended Edwin Lake to friends and I will continue to do so in the future.”

Bradford-on-Avon. May 2016

“I have used the company several times and I cannot fault the excellent service that I have always received. They are always professional with an additional personal touch. The prompt verbal discussion, explanation and information regarding the report is a bonus and the following written report is easier to comprehend. I have recommended their services to others who have been as pleased as I am with their services.”

Pill, Bristol. May 2016

“Very impressed. Quick response following initial enquiry. Friendly and helpful surveyor and his assistant Emma was brilliant too. Really appreciated the time Richard gave me on the day, giving me a walk round.”

Bath. May 2016

“We needed a quick turn around for a homebuyers report and Edwin Lake were so helpful and quick to respond. This was the first property my husband and I had bought so we needed some guidance which Emma and Richard were very willing to help with. The report was done within a couple of weeks and was very thorough. A fantastic company, would highly recommend to anyone needing a homebuyers report.”

Peasedown St John, Bath. April 2016

“Edwin Lake were extremely helpful from start through to finish. As a first time buyer I received extensive, helpful advice on the phone about which product to pick, whilst reserving a date for the survey to take place ASAP. Richard called me after the survey, taking me through the major points in a friendly and easy to understand manner. We received the written report on time, which was written in a detailed, clear manner. Richard has been brilliant at communicating with us on the phone and offering his professional advice whenever requested. I couldn’t be happier with the service we’ve received and would definitely recommend to others, and use Edwin Lake again in the future.”

Redfield, Bristol. April 2016

“We were extremely impressed with the service we received from Edwin Lake. Emma was always quick to respond to our queries and the survey was carried out exactly on schedule with no issues. It was extremely useful having Richard call us straight after the survey to talk us through his initial findings, and his comprehensive and well-written report came through just a few days later. An excellent service, thank you.”

Easton-in-Gordano, Bristol. April 2016

“It takes a lot for me to write a review as I’m usually satisfied but rarely impressed. However, the service from Emma and Richard at Edwin Lake has been exceptional. The service has been perfect – fast, friendly, efficient and personal. The survey was incredibly thorough and puts our last survey to shame! Being able to speak directly with Richard to go over the survey added extra clarity and I actually learnt a lot about Georgian houses. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and have already engaged Edwin Lake’s services again.”

Bath. March 2016

“I found Richard Lake’s building Survey report to be very efficient, thorough and helpful. His direct telephone advice also gave me greater confidence in the decisions I had to make regarding the property purchase. Would very much recommend.”

Frome, Somerset. March 2016

“Richard was excellent throughout the whole process. He and his secretary explained in detail the differences between each report and often responded quickly to emails outside of work hours. This service was very thorough, with Richard calling before and after the survey to ascertain if we had any concerns and discuss the report, respectively. The service was very friendly, and fantastic value for money with a January discount. I would recommend Edwin Lake Ltd to anyone in the area looking to purchase a property.”

Chipping Sodbury, Bristol. March 2016

“Very impressed with the quality of service from Edwin Lake. They gave a thorough verbal report immediately after visiting the property which was swiftly followed by the written version. Both times the surveyor was keen to carefully explain his work, answer any questions, and even make helpful suggestions. Have already recommended.”

Knowle, Bristol. February 2016

“I was very impressed with the service provided by Edwin Lake, they were quick to respond to all our communications and the survey itself was scheduled in a timely manner. The report provided was very useful and the call to discuss the findings was much appreciated. The overall service was excellent and it was good to know they were their to answer any of our questions should we of had any further queries.”

Bedminster, Bristol. February 2016

“Excellent service throughout and a very comprehensive survey.”

Bath. January 2016

“The report was excellent and I would not hesitate to use your services again when I find a new property.”

Radstock. January 2016

“Absolutely fantastic business. Both Emma and Richard were very polite, helpful and friendly. Always answered the landline/mobile promptly and were always happy to answer any of my questions. Homebuyers survey was carried out within a week of booking and the report less than 5 days later. Excellent and quick service. Report was well set out and easy to understand. I would highly recommend Edwin Lake Ltd especially Emma and Richard. Thanks again for all your help.Found the report to be practical and comprehensive. The telephone call immediately after the survey was most helpful and prepared us for what we then received. Our questions afterwards have been handled as efficiently and practically as the the rest of the service.”

Yate, Bristol. January 2016

“Very impressed with the thorough Building Survey report and the excellent support we received from Richard Lake.”

Wellow, Bath. December 2015

“Found the report to be practical and comprehensive. The telephone call immediately after the survey was most helpful and prepared us for what we then received. Our questions afterwards have been handled as efficiently and practically as the the rest of the service.”

Bath. December 2015

“Great service from the moment I called through to receiving the survey. Communicated well throughout the process keeping us updated and great call before survey to find out our needs. A clear detailed survey coving all we needed and more.Great service from the moment I called through to receiving the survey. Communicated well throughout the process keeping us updated and great call before survey to find out our needs. A clear detailed survey coving all we needed and more.”

Knowle, Bristol. December 2015

“I found Mr Lake very helpful and complete in both his oral and written report. He highlighted all the points of concern and has enabled us to move with confidence.”

Mells, Somerset. December 2015

“An extremely fluent and friendly service, which provided a detailed and well communicated report.”

Easton, Bristol. December 2015

“Having researched at least 5 companies for my valuation, I was scoring each company on attitude, price, time slot flexibility, general manners, etc etc. Although Edwin Lake was the most expensive company, Emma won me over in all aspects. She made me feel like it was ok to ask silly questions. The follow up wasn’t too quick to seem eager or pestering, but long enough to give me room to breathe. Thank you for your excellent customer service and care.”

Headley Park, Bristol. November 2015

“Excellent service from Emma and Richard. And very useful, detailed report. Thank you.”

Clifton Wood, Bristol. October 2015

“I felt the service was thorough and personal. Communication was supportive and informative.”

Frome. October 2015

“Outstanding service from start to finish. Our valuation report was produced for us to meet an urgent need and delivered inside of 48 hours. When a change was requested it was actioned and a new report delivered inside an hour. Thoroughly recommend to anyone.”

Peasedown St John. October 2015

“I have no hesitation in recommending Edwin Lake Ltd. They have completed a number of surveys for me and each time the attention to detail and level of service has been exceptional. I trust their judgement and value their insight.”

Bath. October 2015

“Very friendly and helpful. We really liked the telephone call on the day of the survey through which we were given an indication of the findings, along with the opportunity to call the surveyor to discuss anything we were unclear about.”

Bath. September 2015

“Great service. Excellent communication throughout, very thorough survey.”

Bristol. September 2015

“We were very pleased with the comprehensive report which we received from Richard and felt everything included in the full building survey was very good value for money. Both Richard and Emma have been extremely professional and helpful throughout the process. We would most definitely recommend their services to others in the future.”

Knowle, Bristol. September 2015

“I will be recommending Edwin Lake to all family and friends who are looking for a chartered surveyor. I was extremely happy with the speed in which we had the house surveyed and the general care and attention with the office. We have use Edwin Lake twice because of this and I will be going back in the future. Thank you very much again.”

Horfield, Bristol. September 2015

“What a fantastic service, from all members of the team, the secretary is so thoughtful and thorough. The surveyor has an incredible attention to detail and really listens to your queries and questions. All aspects of the service were personalised, clear and informative. I was overseas at the time and the whole process was managed seamlessly and in superb time. I am so grateful for their work during what could be a stressful process.”

Frome, Somerset. August 2015

“The service was faultless, we were very pleased from the first call to the follow up of survey report. After calling several surveyors prior to Edwin Lake, I was pleasantly surprised by the efficiency and helpfulness of Emma and Richard. Very thorough reporting and no question seemed too much trouble. Would highly recommend and would certainly use their services again.”

Upper Swainswick, Bath. August 2015

“Excellent service, fast turnaround and couldn’t have been more helpful. Thanks.”

Bedminster, Bristol. August 2015

“Very prompt service and pleasant people to deal with. The building survey is very thorough but still clearly presented. They took care to make sure we understood what the issues with the property were and how to manage them. I would highly recommend Edwin Lake Ltd.”

Burton, Chippenham. August 2015

“I was so impressed by how swiftly Emma and Richard organised and undertook my home buyers report. Having the opportunity to meet Richard at the property really helped me understand the content of the report.”

Knowle, Bristol. August 2015

“I was introduced to Edwin Lake Ltd after being let down by another company on a house survey. Myself and my partner couldn’t have been happier with the survey that was conducted and the professional manner and speed with which it was presented to us. Although initially being let down by others caused us a number of issues. Edwin Lake Ltd solved all of these worries and proved to be a real blessing in disguise. I would recommend them to anyone who needs a thorough and professional survey completed.”

Southwick, Bath. July 2015

“I have used Richard Lake of Edwin Lake on several occasions to undertake Surveys for me and always found his service exemplary providing a very professional service. Again many THANKS Richard and his team.”

Bath. July 2015

“Very good service, very friendly & pleasant. Easy to communicate with. Would recommend.”

Bath. July 2015

“Extremely efficient and very helpful. Phone call giving information prior to receipt of Survey was very useful. A friendly, helpful service – I do not think it could be improved upon.”

Frome, Somerset. July 2015

“We are repeat customers of Edwin Lake Ltd for many good reasons. Richard produces sound, detailed professional reports which are incredibly thorough and reliable. Thanks to Richard’s reports we have 100% confidence that we are going in to our house purchase knowing absolutely everything there is to know about the house! Perfect.”

Combe Down, Bath. July 2015

“Many thanks to Richard for taking so much time and trouble. His understanding of old houses, especially damp issues, was invaluable. The report was long and detailed, and he went to great trouble to talk us through queries and options at every stage. Highly recommended.”

Bradford-on-Avon. July 2015

“I instructed Richard Lake of Edwin Lake Ltd after finding the company’s website on Google. From the moment of my first phone call with his secretary, I found the whole experience of dealing with the firm extremely easy. The inspection, verbal feedback and written report all took place quickly. The report was informative and has proved useful in the house purchase process.”

Bristol. July 2015

“Excellent service we couldn’t fault. We now feel confident about the property we are purchasing and the work that needs to be done. Richard was excellent at also commenting on areas which we propose to change within the house and extension plans, advising what would work structurally. Thank you to Richard and Emma for all your help and excellent follow up service.”

Hinton Charterhouse, Bath. June 2015

“Brilliant service, very flexible and prompt report. Competitively priced.”

Bristol. June 2015

“Quick, informative, with detailed oral feedback and easy to keep in touch with.”

Southville, Bristol. June 2015

“Excellent service provided by the team at Edwin Lake. Very professional and experienced. Recommended.”

Downend, Bristol. May 2015

“Efficient service from start to finish – once we had instructed Edwin Lake Ltd they simply did the rest – from booking the survey with the relevant parties to delivering a very comprehensive and informative report. I would not hesitate recommending the service offered by Richard, with the fantastic support of Emma.”

Upton Cheyney, Bristol. May 2015

“Efficient, informative, friendly service at a very good price.”

Bristol. May 2015

“The company provided us with an excellent level of personal service. The surveyor called to find out if we had any particular concerns regarding the property prior to his inspection, and we received a lengthy call after his inspection with a summary of his findings.”

Bath. May 2015

“Very clear explanation of services offered. Good phone advice before and after survey. Very clear report.”

Henleaze, Bristol. May 2015

“I would highly recommend Edwin Lake, they were really helpful at explaining everything beforehand, including the process, prompt at sending the report and giving a phone call after the valuation to discuss things personally.”

Bristol. April 2015

“Edwin Lake Ltd provided us with a fast service, with clear fees and were very professional and helpful during the whole process.”

Paulton, Bristol. April 2015

“Our enquiry was handled with professionalism and in a friendly & helpful manner from the initial telephone enquiry. We wanted a surveyor with experience in a particular type of construction and Edwin Lake were able to provide that. The report was very thorough and useful – giving us practical and realistic recommendations. Richard talked us through the key points of the survey and advised us where appropriate of what actions were needed and enabled us to discuss issues with our solicitor with all the facts to hand. The survey was money well spent and meant we progressed with the purchase feeling well informed. We would highly recommend Edwin Lake and will certainly use their services in the future.”

Stoke Bishop, Bristol. April 2015

“The service that I received was impeccable, faultless, speedy and thoroughly efficient. I have used them twice. I would use them again and would highly recommend others to use the company. They were very approachable and constantly kept me informed and updated.”

Pill, Bristol. April 2015

“This is the second time that Richard has undertaken a survey on our behalf. His thoroughness and attention to detail have given us a great degree of confidence in our home. He has always been willing to answer any follow-up questions and explain anything we are unsure of however small. We are very glad that we found Edwin Lake, and have recommended Richard to our friends.”

Downend, Bristol. March 2015

“I was very happy with the work undertaken on my behalf by Edwin Lake Limited. I was telephoned from the surveyed property at the time of the survey ; given a further verbal report soon afterwards, and a very comprehensive written report within the promised timescale.”

St George, Bristol. March 2015

“Great personal service with ample time given to answer our questions. Would highly recommend.”

Weston-super-Mare. March 2015

“This has been the best experience we’ve had of getting a survey carried out on a house – thank you! We really appreciated the opportunity to mention our concerns to Richard before the survey and then having the chance to hear his response by phone as well as in the formal report. And thanks too for suggestions of who might be able to carry out some of the necessary work.”

Bath. March 2015

“The report was very helpful in identifying the pros and cons of the property. Richard was very kind and he gave me very good advice on dealing with the problems. Absolutely satisfied with the service and definitely recommend it. ”

Bath. March 2015

“Excellent professional, comprehensive and speedy service.”

Bath. March 2015

“The Homebuyers Report was extremely useful with just the right amount of detail. I was very impressed by the service with Richard making himself available over the phone to answer any outstanding questions. Highly recommended!”

Bath. March 2015

“The service was very thorough and it was very helpful to have been talked through the report in detail.”

Bath. February 2015

“This is the third survey that Richard carried out for me, unfortunately the first 2 properties identified concerns that led me to decide not to purchase them. So having them done has saved me a lot of heartache and problems in the future. My final survey identified issues that enabled me to renegotiate the selling price and allowed me to plan for work that needs to be budgeted for in the future. Emma, the receptionist was very professional and responsive to any queries and questions I had, and Richard was very prompt in calling me to discuss my requirements for the property and feeding back information, both during and after the survey had been completed. I found the service provided to be professional, reliable and worth the money spent on the surveys. I would recommend this service to my colleagues,friends and family.”

Bradford-on-Avon. February 2015

“Very impressed by the service provided by both Richard Lake and Emma in the office who was extremely polite and helpful.”

Bath. February 2015

“Both Emma and Richard were very helpful throughout. The survey was completed promptly and was very clear. Each time I contacted Richard or Emma they came back to me very quickly. It was great to talk through the survey to understand the more important points and decide a way forward.”

Bath. February 2015

“We had a Home Buyer Survey carried out by Edwin Lake on the property we are purchasing. The survey was arranged quickly and without hassle, they contacted the estate agents directly. Once the survey was carried out we received a detailed report by phone from Richard, a few days later I received the paper report. This was in depth and thorough, however using terms which were easy to understand for those with no construction knowledge. Overall we were very happy with the service and would recommend.”

Bristol. February 2015

“Excellent service – both the report itself, and follow up.”

Frome. February 2015

“Very pleased with both surveys Richard has done for me. He is flexible and professional, always willing to give a verbal update before the report is written, and to discuss it afterwards. Am about to commission him to do another.”

Bath. February 2015

“I was really impressed with the service provided by Edwin Lake. Communication was excellent throughout, with Richard contacting me both before and after the Homebuyer Survey to update me on the outcome, as well as on the progress of the report. The report itself was very thorough and provided useful recommendations on areas that required improving. I would happily use Edwin Lake again. Thank you!”

St George, Bristol. January 2015

“Richard and Emma provided a first-class service from start to finish. Excellent communications and a prompt, comprehensive and extremely useful survey report. Will definitely use Edwin Lake again.”

Winterbourne, Bristol. January 2015

“Edwin Lake’s service in carrying out an assessment of somewhat intractable damp problems was professional and comprehensive. I would be happy to recommend their services.”

Bath. January 2015

“Excellent professional service, saved me from making a serious error, very grateful.”

Weston-super-Mare. January 2015

“Very pleased with the prompt survey and detailed report. Professional and helpful communication with staff/surveyor.”

Darshill, Shepton Mallet. January 2015

“Richard Lake was extremely helpful in phoning us after the damp inspection, and letting us know which was the most serious area that needed treatment. It was extremely thorough and we can’t think of any way it could have been improved.”

Stratton-on-the-Fosse. January 2015

“Efficient service with polite, approachable staff who explain everything each step of the way & happily answered all my questions.”

Long Ashton, North Somerset. December 2014

“Efficient service with polite, approachable staff who explain everything each step of the way & happily answered all my questions.”

Long Ashton, North Somerset. December 2014

“Efficient and quality service was provided. Constant communication with the surveyor at all times, which gave me an honest and great service.”

Horfield, Bristol. December 2014

“Very polite, friendly service which met my needs perfectly.” Redfield, Bristol. November 2014

“I chose Edwin Lake after seeing their website on a Google search, which can always be risky. I am so pleased this proved to be a hit, Emma and Richard were amazingly helpful from day one, always willing to answer any questions throughout the process, so important for a first time buyer who doesn’t really know what she is doing. A massive thank you and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them.”

Clifton, Bristol. November 2014

“I was able to book an appointment with Edwin Lake Ltd over the internet. Within two weeks I had a valuation carried out on my property which was accepted by HomeBuy. This allowed me to formally purchase all of my house. Both Emma & Richard provided an excellent service, responding to all my questions perfectly and professionally. I would recommend this company to anyone needing any of their services. Very impressed!”

Mangotsfield, Bristol. November 2014

“Report was very thorough and Richard took the time to make sure we understood it and outstanding points were dealt with.”

Bath. November 2014

“As before, a very thorough and helpful report from Richard. Many thanks for everything.”

Redland, Bristol. November 2014

“Being a first time buyer, we were quite nervous and overwhelmed. Edwin Lake really helped with this by being 100% understanding to our issues no matter how small and offering a quality of customer service that eclipsed that of other companies/services used. Highly recommend them.”

Paulton, October 2014

“I am very happy with the swift and professional service I received from Edwin Lake. I would recommend it to any of my friends, and have already recommended it to a member of my family on the strength of the service received valuing my flat.”

Bristol, October 2014

“No changes. Very efficient. Took time to explain the technical bits in simple terms and for a first time buyer this was really appreciated!”

Bristol. October 2014

“From the first contact to receipt of the report, the service provided by Edwin Lake Ltd was professional, friendly and focussed on my needs as a client. Both the Valuation and Schedule of Works reports were comprehensive and easy to understand and delivered promptly. I have no hesitation in recommending Edwin Lake Ltd.”

Fishponds, Bristol. October 2014

“Friendly staff, who went above and beyond to provide a great service and post service!”

Bath, September 2014

“We couldn’t have been happier with the service provided by Edwin Lake. From the time of booking, Emma was extremely helpful and efficient. On the day of the survey we met Richard at the property and he took the time to show us the key points. This was incredibly helpful, as it really helped us to understand the report and gave us the opportunity to ask questions. The report itself was very clear and thorough, and now that we have moved in we are using it as a guide to help us prioritise the jobs. Couldn’t recommend Edwin Lake highly enough.”

Fishponds, Bristol. September 2014

“The team at Edwin Lake are professional and approachable. The perfect match for a person unfamiliar with the processes required for house buying/selling. They took time to answer my questions and I never felt like an imposition. The valuation was completed quickly and thoroughly to a high standard. I will be using Edwin Lake for any further surveys I will need in the future, I cannot rate the experience highly enough!”

Frome, August 2014

“Excellent and professional service, delivered our report under budget. Highly recommended.”

Bath, August 2014

“Richard kept us well informed and gave us a detailed update whilst in the process of carrying out the survey which we found particularly helpful. The service was very quick and we found the report highly informative and the photographs were especially useful. We would certainly use Edwin Lake again in the future.”

Fishponds, Bristol. August 2014

“I was delighted with the service Edwin Lake provided. Richard was very thorough and really went above and beyond spending time with my partner and mother at the property explaining his findings. He also went out of his way to fit me in as soon as possible and his communication was exceptional throughout the whole process. I would not hesitate to recommend him.”

Horfield, Bristol. August 2014

“I have just read the report and must thank you again for an excellent and informative document. In the past, I have had a number of Homebuyer’s Reports but yours is definitely the best. It clearly states what is good and not so good about the property. This will allow us to plan for the improvements and necessary maintenance. I am sure that, in the long run, it will save us a lot of money by allowing us to be proactive rather than reactive in looking after the house. Useful advice was given to help our solicitors ensure that essential documentation is provided. Your report allows us to proceed with the purchase from a much more clear sighted position.”

Clevedon. August 2014

“An excellent service – I will recommend Edwin Lake to friends and family.”

Bath. July 2014

“We were very impressed with how thorough our report was. We were also really pleased with Richard, our surveyor, who gave us a good verbal report before the paper one as well as talking us through some of our concerns on various occasions. We have recommended to others. Thanks.”

Bath, July 2014

“The survey was very detailed and very informative. We received a phone call before and after the survey which was very useful. The explanation both over the phone and the report was very detailed and not hasty which helped us understand better the repairs or maintenance we were going to need with the house. The advice on what to do next was very useful and very helpful as we are first time buyers. Thank you Edwin Lake.”

Frome. June 2014

“I will not hesitate to recommend you to others, your willingness to provide follow up advice after the initial survey, and accommodating meeting me at the site in the first place, have been very much appreciated. Also your clear advice and recommendations have been excellent.”

Frome, July 2014

“Richard Lake completed a survey for us and we were incredibly impressed with the very thorough and detailed report he provided. After conducting the survey, Richard was very helpful in talking certain aspects of the report through with us- he made it clear that he was happy to be contacted by us and we really appreciated the time he took to speak with and correspond via email with us. Richard has previously surveyed other properties for us and we have been consistently impressed with the exceptional service he provides – we will continue to recommend his service to others and will certainly be coming back to Richard next time we need a survey!”

Clifton, Bristol. May 2014

“Fantastic service! Very helpful in explaining the contents of the report and any areas that were unknown. Helpful tips and support provided – a service that goes the extra mile! Thank you!”

Bath. May 2014

“Very thorough. The report was comprehensive and apprised us to many issues that we had not previously considered. We found the illustrative photos accompanying the report particularly useful.”

Victoria Park, Bristol. May 2014

“The surveyor Richard Lake was very efficient and thorough, covering all aspects that were required.Many thanks.”

Oldland Common, Bristol. April 2014

“Richard’s initial survey report was extremely thorough and remains an invaluable resource as we undertake a programme of renovation and improvement to our home. Richard was also good enough to pay us a brief follow-up visit more than a year after the initial purchase to clarify and comment on a particular area of concern which he had raised in his initial survey. I would have no hesitation in recommending Richard’s services.”

Bath. April 2014

“Very very thorough and helpful throughout the entire process.”

Frome. April 2014

“A great service was provided. Richard contacted us on the morning of the survey to discuss the specific points we wished to be investigated. He was also happy to call after the survey was carried out to discuss his initial findings. An extremely detailed report followed. We would not hesitate to recommend Edwin Lake to any other prospective purchasers.”

Whitchurch, Bristol. March 2014

“Richard was fantastic in providing feedback about the property and survey conducted and went over and beyond to support with issues identified with the property. I would recommend Edwin Lake services to anyone looking to purchase a property. Thank you again!”

Bath. March 2014

“Very thorough, gave useful suggestions to help me differentiate the urgent from the less urgent work.”

Batheaston. January 2014

“Richard was fantastic in providing feedback about the property and survey conducted and went over and beyond to support with issues identified with the property. I would recommend Edwin Lake services to anyone looking to purchase a property. Thank you again!”

Combedown, Bath. December 2013

“An extremely thorough and considered report, presented in a very readable, helpful way. I was left in no doubt as to the surveyor’s experience and professionalism.”

Bath. December 2013

“The response to our initial query was very quick and we greatly appreciated being contacted before the survey was undertaken. This allowed us to highlight areas of the property that we wanted specific feedback on. We also appreciated being contacted after the survey was completed and after we received the report. This enabled us to talk through the report with Richard and gain a better understanding of the more technical matters. Overall, a great service..”

Southville, Bristol. December 2013

“Both me and my wife are very happy with the Survey, because the Surveyor, Richard Lake, spotted the things we missed and could not even think about. We had discussion by Skype – it’s very useful for us, because we are busy all week long to meet personally. After discussion the Surveyor also sent a lot of useful information on the points we asked him about. All our questions were answered.”

Bath. December 2013

“Having never been through the house buying process before we were completely naive as to what we needed to do and anxious about following the process correctly. From day 1 we were offered clear explanations regarding what would be done, why and how that information would be relayed after the survey. Communication from those we have been in touch with at Edwin Lake has always been personal, polite and prompt. The survey itself was carried out in a timely manner and Richard Lake provided us with a thorough verbal report on the day. The Report itself arrived soon after, within the time frame promised and is clearly written. You don’t need a degree in Surveying to understand what is reported or the advice provided. The process, at a time when we are potentially completing the largest purchase of our lives, has proven to be a reassuring one and certainly one that means we go into this purchase with our eyes open and the ability to plan for the future more easily. Thank you.”

Bath. December 2013

“Richard Lake was extremely helpful and we particularly valued being able to discuss report by phone and having the additional photographs he had taken.”

Bristol. December 2013

“Pleasure to deal with you and very happy to recommend you to friends and family.”

Bear Flat, Bath. December 2013

“I found your service to be very good. Very thorough, very open to & giving time to my questions & concerns & very approachable.”

Ashton, Bristol. December 2013

“A very thorough survey, very helpful with the advise and links for other services which we may need.”

Farmborough. December 2013

“Richard was superb throughout the process. Not only was he able to perform the survey the day I after I spoke with him but he provided me with a comprehensive update verbally after carrying out the survey on the day. He was able to give good practical advice which was vital for me to understand the potential cost of work required. I would thoroughly recommend Richard to others..”

Bath. November 2013

“Extremely thorough, prompt and worthwhile service, which has probably saved me a good deal of money.”

Frome. October 2013

“When selecting a professional via the internet one is never sure of what sort of person you will get but as we knew no surveyors in the Bath area we had little choice but to go down that route. I have to say that we have come up trumps in asking you to do the survey for us and you may like to know that we were influenced in our choice by the excellent quality of your web-site. Throughout you have been very easy and pleasant to  deal with and you have clearly done a full and professional survey which gives us confidence in continuing with our purchase.  You have kept us fully in the picture and your telephone call when you had finished the survey was very informative and reassuring. All in all a first class job and we are very grateful for what you have done. Should the situation arise we would have no hesitation in using you again or recommending you to others.”

Bath. October 2013

“Following the issue of the report, the on going support and information provided by Edwin Lake Ltd. has been excellent.”

Totterdown, Bristol. October 2013

“Richard juggled his diary to fit me in very quickly to help with the buying process. It was a very easy and simple process.”

Elton Road, Bristol. October 2013

“Excellent chartered surveyor. A true professional, in the strict sense of the term. Richard responded quickly, took the job seriously, completed a thorough survey and provided a comprehensive report together with verbal advice. The survey was extremely useful: it helped me understand what needed updating and also enabled me to renegotiate down the price of the property following.”

Larkhall, Bath. October 2013

“We were fully communicated with and in a very nice manner.”

Oldfield Park, Bath. September 2013

“Fantastic, helpful, ongoing through any problems with the conveyancing process”

Stoke Bishop, Bristol. September 2013

“The survey was very thorough indeed, we were very impressed with the level of detail and expertise which went into it.”

Lansdown, Bath. September 2013

“Extremely comprehensive and detailed report; far beyond expectations. A very polite and skilled team that we’d be more than happy to use again.

Fishponds, Bristol. September 2013

“Very pleased with service. Excellent report through and comprehensive. Richard was available to discuss any concerns and talk me through everything. Would totally recommend and use again if needed.”

RC HR, Frampton Cotterell, Bristol. September 2013

“Excellent. We had previously commissioned a report from Richard Lake on a property in Belvedere & on both occassions we found Richard to be very professional and constructive in his evaluations. On several occassions, subsequent to the production of his written report, he was open and available to clarification questions and offered helpful & timely advice & guidance which was greatly appreciated. We would have no hesitation in recommending Edwin Lake Ltd & will commission further reports in the future.”

Oldfield Park, Bath. September 2013

“I really appreciated the phone call to update me on the condition of the property while the survey was taking place. It gave me a chance to ask questions and it was great to get the heads up so the content of the report wasn’t a surprise. Thanks for all your help!”

Southville, Bristol. September 2013

“Provided early advice about the type of survey that would most likely suit my purpose and then executed it efficiently. Easy to do business with.”

Bath. September 2013

“Extremely thorough report with lots of detail and useful recommendations. We did not end up purchasing the house because of the scale of work that needed doing – if the survey had not highlighted all this, then it could have ended disastrously for us, especially as we have a young baby. My partner’s family in Berkshire were so impressed with the excellent report that they are keen to use Richard when they next purchase a house.”

Horfield, Bristol. August 2013

“Extremely helpful, clear and prompt advice. Nothing was too much bother for Richard, he was calm and answered all our questions, and we had lots of them as First Time Buyers.”

Luckwell, Bristol. July 2013

“A precise, easy to understand, professional report, which gave us the buyers confidence to purchase the property.”

Central Bath. July 2013

“The overall service received was excellent and specific to my needs. The building survey was carried out quickly, with a verbal briefing provided to me the same day and the report followed shortly after that. The report was clear and concise and provided me with a great deal of comfort with regards to the current condition of the property and planned future maintenance. I would definitely recommend Richard to any future house buyer; money very well spent in my opinion.”

Ashton, Bristol. July 2013

“All details were clear, and have allowed us to answer many of the solicitors questions. Our builder, due to renovation work needed, says it gives him clear guidance, and helps with discussions of what should be done now and what can wait for future date, if we so decide. Still trying to buy property though!”

Southdown, Bath. July 2013

“Excellent all the way!”

MB, Larkhall, Bath. June 2013

“Just to express our thanks for carrying out the survey on [address]; an excellent report. Absolute pleasure to have worked with you and will certainly recommend to any of our friends.”

WB, Brislington, Bristol. June 2013

“Great communication throughout, good detail and explanation on survey and how it was completed – all turned around in a short period of time. Many Thanks.”

JH, St. Philips, Bristol. June 2013

“Very detailed, highly professional report. All questions answered very quickly and helpfully. I would recommend Edwin Lake to anyone, without hesitation.”

AS, Norton St Philip. June 2013

“Richard provided excellent service and great value for money on the HomeBuyers survey he undertook for me. Not only was the report extremely thorough, you always felt that you could go back and ask additional questions or further queries. Richard also contacted me on the day of the survey to provide a comprehensive overview of his initial findings. I would definitely recommend Richard’s services to anyone and I have already recommended him to a family member who is currently looking to purchase a property. Great service, thank you Richard.”

CL, St George, Bristol. April 2013

“I found the service excellent. Richard explained all the important findings of the survey verbally in a phone call so that I was able to ask any questions about the report.”

SP, Bristol. April 2013

“Richard is extremely thorough. He is also very patient in explaining everything and will answer queries that arise after his work is done. A great service!”

JR, Radstock. April 2013

“Appreciated the open communication line and approachability of the surveyor for advice and comment prior to and after the Homebuyer’s report, particularly as living overseas.”

VE, Bath. April 2013

“Very thorough and professional.. and fully appreciated the offer to go back to see the roof space…plus also a willingness for the information gathered to be passed on to others.”

KB, Bath. April 2013

“Richard carried out two surveys for me on two different properties – one was a Building Survey and one a HomeBuyer Report. In both cases, he was thorough and prepared to spend extra time discussing issues through with me. I have been very grateful for his help and knowledgable input, and I would recommend his services to anyone.”

CP, Bradford-on-Avon & Bristol. March 2013

“Richard could not have been more helpful. His report was thorough and the support he gave us throughout the process was incredibly helpful and as first time buyers very much appreciated. In the end we decided not to go ahead with the purchase and are very glad that we commissioned a full Building Survey in order to help us to reach this decision. We will definitely be using Richard’s services again and would not hesitate to recommend him to our friends and family. Thank you again.”

AW, Easton, Bristol. February 2013

“Wonderfully speedy service. No broker in between surveyor and customer a real bonus! Richard was very thorough and took a lot of time talking me through all the details. He also went back a second time to confirm facts about an issue that was important to me. Overall, a super service, Richard is a nice guy and offers a quality, personal service. I’m telling my friends about Edwin Lake.”

JR, Midsomer Norton. January 2013

“Richard answered my initial email enquiries at the weekend, and was happy to meet me at the property to go through his findings at the end of the survey.”

CB, Hanham, Bristol. December 2012

“Very thorough. A careful, un-rushed and very thought-out approach. Listened to our concerns prior to the Survey, but was not biased by them. Ample time given over to client after Survey was sent out. Lots of advice/suggestions/contact links as follow-through.”

N&LC, Bath. December 2012

“Even though it was the first survey I have had done on a property, I was very impressed with both the level of knowledge, but also the advice and recommendations contained within the report. I would certainly recommend to others.”

ZA, Bristol. December 2012

“Excellent service and matter dealt with promptly and professionally.”

MS, Wraxhall. December 2012

“Thank you for providing is with the RICS HomeBuyer Report. You have been prompt, informative and took on board our concerns regarding the purchase of this property; we would have no hesitation in recommending your services to our friends.”

EC. Trowbridge. December 2012

“The service we received was excellent! I was very impressed with the high level of customer care and attention to detail within the report. As a first time buyer, I had no idea what to expect. Richard made the process so easy and was extremely accommodating to our needs. Thank you!”

HT, Bath. December 2012

“It was good to meet you last week and many thanks again for taking the time to run through some of the key points of your survey when we met. Thank you also for your detailed Survey Report. We’ve had a first read through and were very impressed with the level of detail and advice provided..”

LL, Oakhill. November 2012

“Thank you so much for your prompt and very thorough report……. I will have no hesitation in recommending you to my friends and family should they need your services.”

LJ, Radstock. November 2012

“Thanks once again for all your help.. You’ve been fantastic!”

LC, Timsbury. November 2012

“Hi Richard, Thanks for your speedy reply. Since we are staying with friends in their spare bedroom (!) we are really hoping this can be pushed through as soon as possible (our mortgage offer runs out on the 5th November too so we need to be completed by then). I’m really reluctant to use anyone else as we have come to value your opinion and way of doing business so much. Is there any possibility of fitting a survey in any earlier at all? Ever so sorry, I feel a little cheeky asking you to squeeze us in (again!) on such short notice, you really have been amazingly accommodating already, but if we are able to use your services again we would love to. Many thanks, and I’m pleased to hear you are so busy and so we understand if it’s just a little too difficult to fit it in!”

CC, Knowle, Bristol. October 2012

“You have been very helpful and I will certainly recommend you to any friends looking to have a survey carried out.”

LR, Portishead, Bristol. October 2012

“We were very impressed with the speed with which Richard arraged to do the Building Survey and feedback findings to us. The report was detailed and very informative. He was then happy to discuss any further queries on the phone. He was also happy to view a few of our particular concerns and let us know his impressions. The pictures were very helpful as much of the terminology was a little over our heads being first time house buyers.”

BD, Downend, Bristol. September 2012

” I was given your name and number by as a recommendation and will certinly pass it on to others. Thanks for all the help and advice, speedy excellent service.”

MB, Chew Valley. July 2012

“Richard – you are a highly efficient STAR! I am most grateful – thank you very much indeed.”

EG, Bath. July 2012

” I thought the work and the report were excellent and I appreciate the phone call to tell what was going on with the report. I think I know all there is to know about my new home…”

CL, Wellow. July 2012

” We are very impressed with the report. It is really detailed and the summary of work that needs to be carried out is extremely useful. We appreciate you factual analysis of the property, whilst being sympathetic to its age and character. The additional information you have provided on suppliers and industry advice is much appreciated.”

LH, Fishponds. July 2012

“Thanks so much for the Survey. I found it very detailed and comprehensive and arrived right when you said it would. I am about to write you another reference on Which Local!.”

JS, St Werburghs. June 2012

“I was given your name and number as a recommendation and I will certainly pass it on to others. Thanks for all your help and advice, speedy and excellent service.”

MB, Chew Valley. June 2012

” I have been very impressed by Richards professionalism, efficiency and speed. I feel a lot of trust in him and that he takes pride in his work.”

JW, Horfield. April 2012

” Throughout this process Richard has been very thorough. He was always happy to follow up on any issues and find out information on our behalf by contacting manufacturers, etc. He was also always very quick to respond to any queries, even on weekends. .”

EPG, Bath. February 2012

” I placed an order with Richard Lake of Edwin Lake. He is currently preparing a report having done the survey to the house. He has been great and gave me a call after the survey too to run through the major points. Very helpful guy. Final report is in process, but once again work so far has been fantastic. Good value, lots of communication and work carried out quickly.”

BS, Dodington. January 2012

” I just wanted to say thank you for doing the survey on my house purchase. Getting the survey done quickly was critical – fitting me in so soon and your verbal run down of the issues was really appreciated. I got the keys on the Wednesday before Christmas – just over 2 weeks after agreeing the purchase!! I had thought I’d phone you with questions that arose but your report was so thorough that I had all the information already and, most importantly, there were no surprises.”

RJ, Knowle. December 2011

“This is amazingly reassuring to me. Thank you, and thank you for being so amazingly prompt as well….. I feel very fortunate we have you as our surveyor……. We certainly would not hesitate to recommend you on in the future and use you again if we end up not achieving xxxx Rd.”

FL, Bristol. November 2011

“May I take this opportunity to thank you for your prompt and efficient service.”

NG, Bristol. November 2011

“Thank you very much for your comprehensive report.”

TG, Bristol. November 2011

” Thank you very much for your Survey and subsequent advice including the valuation of the property. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending your services and indeed have already started to do so. All the best.”

TG, Redland, Bristol. October 2011

“Many thanks for your full, detailed and constructive report. I have read and annotated the ‘hard copy’ and already acted on some of your observations. My wife and I have valued your prompt and thorough actions in managing and undertaking the survey. The ‘phone call on the day of the survey was extremely helpful. Assuming that the solicitor’s searches are satisfactory we shall be exchanging and completing the purchase.”

PW, Bristol. September 2011

“What a great service, the full building survey on the barn conversion was carried out within a few days, an excellent verbal overview on the same day as the survey, followed a few days later by a comprehensive written report with supporting photographs by e-mail and then in the post soon afterwards. Gave us confidence very quickly on the condition of our proposed purchase.”

JS, Binegar, Somerset. June 2011

” Please could you pass on my thanks..his survey was extremely helpful and we have successfully identified work to be done and negotiated funds accordingly.”

JG, Keynsham. June 2011

” I was really happy in particular with the fact that Richard spent a lot of time explaining his observations to me in person which made me feel very confident of the service which had already come recommended by a reliable third party and that I was cautioned against buying the first property that I looked at. I felt that the service was professional, thorough, thoughtful and good value. I wouldn’t hesitate to use the service again or to recommend it to another prospective purchaser having used it twice myself on different properties. I was also recommended a good solicitor whose services I have already found excellent on two occasions. Thank you.”

KG, Southville, Bristol. June 2011

“It was extremely helpful to be able to talk in detail about the next stage after reading the excellent and extensive report. Recommendations and advice as to local companies were very welcome and the sense that there was an aftercare service too if details needed to be clarified at a later stage. Very quick detailed and efficient service. Thanks.”

AE, Frankley Buildings, Bath. May 2011

” Very prompt and very good service. A very comprehensive report which was helpful in pointing out deficiencies in the property which were vital.”

BM, Blemheim Road, Bristol. March 2011

“I placed an order with Edwin Lake Ltd. Brilliant service, called me straight away with a quote and carried out the full survey the following week, written report was received a week later as well as by email. I would highly recommend Edwin Lake (Richard). Very thorough, called me the day of the survey to give me the fundamental issues and written report was sent very shortly after. Excellent.”

CS, Melrose Avenue, Yate. February 2011

“The service we received was excellent in all areas, the report was excellent and we were able to approach Richard Lake at any time for clarification or advice. We would definitely use Richard Lake’s services again and would not hesitate to recommend him. He was extremely thorough and professional in all aspects.”

SW, Hawkesbury Upton. February 2011

“Good to meet with Richard at the property – he was really helpful and explained everything very clearly to me. Report was thorough and well written – nice and easy to understand.”

SM, Bradford on Avon, Wilts. February 2011

“A professional and efficient service, exceeding our expectations, thank you.”

MS, Kensington Place, Bath. February 2011

“Thankyou so much for all your advice and help. No doubt that I shall be in touch in the future for your expertise once again. I also have recommended your services to friends. I found your professionalism and attention to detail excellent, not only in terms of property analysis but also future maintenance implications. An invaluable and conscientious service.”

JC, Henrietta Street, Bath. January 2011

“Hi Richard, received email and paper survey. Many thanks for an excellent service – a service which I would recommend to a friend. Have a good Christmas.”

MD, Staple Hill. December 2010

“Thank you for a detailed homebuyers report. I have found it very useful.”

EC, Kingswood, Bristol. September 2010

“I placed an order with Richard Lake of Edwin Lake. It was very satisfactory. Not only was Richard the cheapest estimate but he took the trouble to personally respond to our enquiry over the Bank Holiday weekend. True to his word he carried out the survey within two working days and phoned us immediately with his initial findings. In doing so he allowed us to negotiate a much better price. Again true to his word, he was also more than happy to take follow up enquiries and carry out further investigations, all within his initial very competitive estimate. Would highly recommend Richard Lake of Edwin Lake Ltd.”

LC, Bristol. September 2010 (feedback via Local Surveyors Direct)

“Richard, thank you very much for your attention to this matter. Also, for the email from this morning. The email had the desired effect and we have agreed an allowance and hope to exchange this afternoon!

TF, Bradford Leigh. September 2010

” Many thanks, that really is very good of you and much appreciated. If you ever need a recommendation/reference, we would be more than happy to attest to the excellent service you offer.”

LC, Talevera Close, Bristol. September 2010

“We could not recommend Richard Lake of Edwin Lake Ltd highly enough. He responded to our enquiry over a Bank Holiday weekend, carried out the survey within two days and phoned us immediately after with a summary of his findings. This was followed up by an e-mail and then his full report a day later. Despite us only hiring him for a homebuyers report, he was more than happy to respond to follow up emails and phonecalls and wrote several letters to obtain additional information for us, including technical details from the builder’s technical department. As a consequence of his input we were able to revise our offer and save 5% on the price of our new flat. All round a very friendly, responsive and highly professional service.”

Feedback from Which?Local. August 2010

“I would like to thank you once again for the comprehensive HBR that you have produced for me while buying my new flat.

I was very happy that you responded so quickly to my request for the survey and arranged to view the property within a few days. I was also very impressed that you provided me with a verbal report in addition to the formal HBR.

You have highlighted a number of areas of concern that I was not aware of and that, as a result, helped me re-negotiate the price that I had previously agreed to pay for the property before the exchange of contract. I was able to reduce the price by £5,000 and this has been a great help with my other expenses. I’ll definitely contact you should I need to purchase another property in the future.”

MB, Grosvenor, Bath. July 2010